University College Cork

Logotipo University College Cork

Founded in 1845 as one of the three Queen's colleges, it became renamed as University College Cork –National University of Ireland, Cork (Coláiste na hollscoile Corcaigh), under the Irish Universities Act of 1997. It offers over 120 degree and professional programmes through seven schools and 27 departments, to more than 18.000 students now.

The Department of Geography at UCC aims to create pure and applied research of international quality, which impacts on public issues and on-going debates within and beyond the discipline. The Department is committed to being research led in its many different activities, particularly in terms of bringing research directly into our undergraduate and postgraduate teaching programmes.

Amongst other topics, UCC Department of Geography's research has focused on rural change, cultural identity and regional development. Joint studies and research have been developed in cooperation with institutions and professors from Galician, Portugal and other Atlantic Iberia territories. More specifically USC (Galicia) and UCC (Cork) Geography Departments have cooperated in researching the small scale farming societies in Atlantic Europe (the so-called minifundist agriculture). I this respect the works developed by Professor Patrick O'Flanagan on rural economic and territorial organization in Galicia contain a strong and useful comparative perspective.

More info: